Sam and Mark's Super Happy Wedding Funtime

A Wedding I Won’t Have: Angel Island

Posted on: December 14, 2011

Another wedding I won’t be having: Angel Island.

Angel Island is the largest island in the San Francisco bay.  It is only accessible by boat.  Angel Island was once an immigration station, much like Ellis Island.  Approximately 1 million immigrants came through Angel Island.  Now it is a state park.

You can get a bit of the flavor of AI from some pictures on their blogy blog here.

It would be amazing- first, it would involve boats, but not so much as to cause sea sickness.  I love boats.  I do.  But I do get sea sick.

Second, it would involve history.  See the second paragraph of this post.  The immigration station is an official National Historic Landmark.  That is pretty cool, right?  Yes!  It totally *is* cool!

Third, it would be a nice fun out-doorsy place without being to rugged or removed from the city.  I mean, you do have to take a boat to get there, but you take the boat from downtown San Francisco.  It isn’t like a 6 day trek up a mountain requiring a Sherpa and an excellent pair of boots.

The trouble with Angel Island can be summarized easily: Money and Toilets.  Again, Angel Island will cost a small fortune!  The things that make it cool, also add to the price tag- rentals and barges for transporting rentals and chartering ferries so no one in the wedding party has to spend the night huddled in the back of the abandoned garrison.  Chartered ferries are not, apparently, cheap.  Neither are rental toilets.  Rental toilets.  There’s the other pang- I actually don’t want my guests forced to use rental toilets.  Oh, and *I* don’t want to use rental toilets.  That might be a deal breaker for me.

4 Responses to "A Wedding I Won’t Have: Angel Island"

Dealbreaker for sure! Have you considered the Fort Mason chapel? That’s where Mike and I got married, and it’s gorgeous. Maybe also a park – it’s in the Presidio. And cheap.

I like the idea of the Presidio a LOT. I keep looking at the Trocadero Clubhouse in Stern Grove too. Parks and Rec have a lot of awesome places I haven’t even heard of.

Or the Unitarian courtyard? I love Unitarians because they love us.
http://www.uusf.org/SpaceRental/WeddCommit.htm

I will now stop suggesting things.

Please do not stop suggesting things. I need all the help I can get. Even if I don’t want a church, it is still good to get ideas- plus sometimes these tangents lead me to great things…. entire weddings I have in my head… 🙂

Comments

Sam and Mark

